MitoQ Sponsors the 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

It was a great honor to sponsor the MitoQ Best First Book Awards at the 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards which took place in Auckland last night. This is the first year MitoQ has sponsored the awards and it was a wonderful evening which celebrated the creativity, passion and devotion of both the writers and publishers.  

On behalf of the team at MitoQ I would like to pass on our congratulations to all the finalists and especially the winners of the four MitoQ Best First Book Awards. 

Having witnessed my father write a book many years ago and recently attempting to do the same I have some idea about the hours, the effort and the energy required to line up the tens of thousands of words needed to craft a compelling narrative. Not only have the award winners done that but they have done it in a way that has impressed the judges. 

I really commend all the finalists for what you have achieved in the lead up to the awards. And for those in the MitoQ Best First Book awards category – it’s doubly exciting because your story is just beginning. 



MitoQ is a New Zealand biotech company that has discovered a way to support energy in our cells. It’s an exciting ground-breaking piece of technology discovered at The University of Otago. After nearly 20 years of research and close to 100 million NZDs we are starting to understand its potential to have an impact on people’s health and wellness as they age.  The success we are seeing globally is enabling us to give back to the community and particularly we are very proud to be supporting the arts as we see that they are essential to society’s wellbeing.   

Because we are all about cellular energy and we know how much energy goes into creativity we think it’s a great fit for MitoQ 

Congratulations again to all of the finalists and winners of the MitoQ First Book Awards – we look forward to everything you will contribute to NZ and global literature in the years to come.  
Greg Macpherson MitoQ CEO

The four winners of the inaugural MitoQ Best First Book Awards are:  


The Hubert Church Prize for a best first book of Fiction: 

Kirsten Warner for The Sound of Breaking Glass (Mākaro Press) 


The E.H. McCormick Prize for a best first work of General Non-Fiction: 

Chessie Henry for We Can Make a Life (Victoria University Press) 


The Jessie Mackay Prize for a best first book of Poetry:  

Tayi Tibble for Poūkahangatus (Victoria University Press) 


The Judith Binney Prize for a best first work of Illustrated Non-Fiction: 

John Reid for Whatever It Takes: Pacific Films and John O’Shea 1948-2000 (Victoria University Press) 


Each MitoQ Best First Book Award winner received $2500.  

We will be giving away a selection of the winning books on our Facebook page so follow us to keep up to date. 

Follow us on Facebook

Tags All Blog Articles

As seen on
cbs mailonline Mens_Health_logo_orange_bg WG_Logo-1130x300 ls_logo